Saturday, February 20, 2010

Awards News: Up in the Air, Hurt Locker and The Cove win the 2010 WGA Awards

Mark Boal’s gripping Iraq War script for The Hurt Locker captured the WGA (Writers Guild of America) Award for Original Screenplay on Saturday, February 20.  Competing films in this category were (500) Days of Summer (Scott Neustadter, Michael H. Weber), Avatar (James Cameron), The Hangover (Jon Lucas, Scott Moore), and A Serious Man (Joel Coen, Ethan Coen). He thanked director Kathryn Bigelow and the American soldiers in Iraq with whom he was embedded in 2004. 

In the Adapted Screenplay category, Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner continued their winning streak with their screenplay for Up in the Air, which is based on the novel by Walter Kirn.  Their competition this evening were scripts for Crazy Heart (Scott Cooper; based on the novel by Thomas Cobb), Julie & Julia (Nora Ephron; based on the books "Julie & Julia" by Julie Powell and "My Life in France" by Julia Child with Alex Prud'homme), Precious (Geoffrey Fletcher; based on the novel "Push" by Sapphire), and Star Trek (Roberto Orci, Alex Kurtzman; based on "Star Trek," created by Gene Roddenberry).  Turner thanked his fellow Guild members, while Reitman thanked his father in particular as he did at the Golden Globe Awards. 
The Documentary Award went to Mark Monroe for his writing on The Cove, about the dolphin slaughter in Taiji, Japan.  The nominees he was up against were Against the Tide (Richard Trank; based on original material written by Richard Trank, Rabbi Marvin Hier), Capitalism: A Love Story (Michael Moore), Earth Days (Robert Stone), Good Hair (Chris Rock, Jeff Stilson, Lance Crouther, Chuck Sklar), and Soundtrack for a Revolution (Bill Guttentag, Dan Sturman).

The WGA Awards for writing don’t reflect as strongly on the Academy Awards this year because some strong contenders were not eligible since they were not filmed under a WGA or international guild contract.  Disqualified scripts included Inglourious Basterds, Up, An Education, District 9 and In The Loop, all of which are Oscar nominees.

The ceremony took place at the Century Plaza in Los Angeles, hosted by Seth McFarlane of “The Family Guy.”


Complete list of 2010 WGA Award winners

Original Screenplay
The Hurt Locker, Written by Mark Boal

Adapted Screenplay
Up in the Air, Screenplay by Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner; Based upon the novel by Walter Kirn

Documentary Screenplay
The Cove, Written by Mark Monroe


Drama Series
"Mad Men," Lisa Albert, Andrew Colville, Kater Gordon, Cathryn Humphris,  Andre Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton, Brett Johnson, Erin Levy, Marti Noxon,  Frank Pierson, Robin Veith, Dahvi Waller, Matthew Weiner

Comedy Series
"30 Rock," Jack Burditt, Kay Cannon, Robert Carlock, Tom Ceraulo, Vali Chandrasekaran, Tina Fey, Donald Glover, Steve Hely, Matt Hubbard, Dylan Morgan, Paula Pell, Jon Pollack, John Riggi, Tami Sagher, Josh Siegal, Ron Weiner, Tracey Wigfield

New Series
"Modern Family," Paul Corrigan, Sameer Gardezi, Joe Lawson, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Dan O'Shannon, Brad Walsh, Caroline Williams, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker

Episodic Drama:
"House: Broken, Part 1 and Part 2" Russel Friend & Garrett Lerner & David Foster & David Shore; Fox

Episodic Comedy: 
"30 Rock: Apollo, Apollo," Robert Carlock;
"Modern Family: Pilot," Steven Levitan and Chrsitopher Lloyd

Longform Adaptation
"Taking Chance," Michael R. Strobl and Ross Katz

Longform Original
"Georgia O'Keefe," Michael Cristofer

"The Simpsons: Waiting for Disaster," Joel H. Cohen

Comedy/Variety (Including Talk) Series:
"Saturday Night Live" Head Writer: Seth Meyers, Writers Doug Abeles, James Anderson, Alex Baze, Jessica Conrad, James Downey, Steve Higgins, Colin Jost, Erik Kenward, Rob Klein, John Lutz, Lorne Michaels, John Mulaney, Paula Pell, Simon Rich, Marika Sawyer, Akiva Schaffer, John Solomon, Emily Spivey, Kent Sublette, Jorma Taccone, Bryan Tucker, Additional Sketch by Adam McKay, Andrew Steele
"The Daily Show with Jon Stewart," Head Writer: Steve Bodow, Writers Rory Albanese, Kevin Bleyer, Rich Blomquist, Tim Carvell, Wyatt Cenac, Hallie Haglund, JR Havlan, David Javerbaum, Elliott Kalan, Josh Lieb, Sam Means, Jo Miller, John Oliver, Daniel Radosh, Jason Ross, Jon Stewart; Comedy Central
Comedy/Variety - Music, Awards, Tributes - Specials: "Film Independent 2009 Spirit Awards," Billy Kimball, Neil MacLennan

Daytime Serial
"The Young and the Restless," Amanda L. Beall, Tom Casiello, Lisa Connor, Janice Ferri Esser, Eric Freiwald, Jay Gibson, Scott Hamner, Marla Kanelos, Beth Milstein, Natalie Minardi Slater, Melissa Salmons, Linda Schreiber, James Stanley, Sandra Weintraub, Teresa Zimmerman

Children's Episodic and Specials
“Welcome to the Jungle” (The Troop), Max Burnett

Children's Script - Long Form or Special
“Another Cinderella Story,” Erik Patterson, Jessica Scott

"Uncharted 2: Among Thieves"

1 comment:

  1. It was pointed out to me that the link to The Hurt Locker was no longer active. I have replaced it with an active one. If you wish to download the screenplays, you should do so soon because they will likely be made unavailable when the studios no longer need to promote them for the Oscars.