Sunday, February 28, 2010

Awards News: ASC (Cinematography) and CAS (Sound Mixing) Awards

On Saturday, Cinematographer Christian Berger of Das Weisse Band (The White Ribbon) was a surprise winner of the 24th Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Outstanding Achievement Awards.  It's only the second time a foreign film has won the award, after 2004's Un long dimanche de fiançailles (A Very Long Engagement).  Morgan Freeman was given the Board of Governors Award, Caleb Deschanel received the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award, and Chris Menges a took the ASC International Award.

The Cinema Audio Society (CAS) also held its Awards ceremony on Saturday night.  The Hurt Locker pulled out a surprise win over Avatar which won two major awards at the Golden Reel Awards for sound editors.  The other nominees were District 9, Star Trek and Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen. The CAS recognizes sound mixers, who are responsible for sculpting and blending the sound after the sound editors have created and/or selected all of the sounds.

The following are complete lists of winners.


The 24th Annual American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Awards:

Feature Film
Das Weisse Band (The White Ribbon), Christian Berger

Television Episodic Series
“Dark Blue,” “Venice Kings” episode, Eagle Egilsson

Television Movie/Miniseries
“Taking Chance,” Alar Kivilo

Board of Governors Award: Morgan Freeman

Lifetime Achievement Award
Caleb Deschanel

International Award
Chris Menges

Career Achievement in Television Award
John C. Flinn, III

Presidents Award
Sol Negrin


Sound Mixing for a Motion Picture
The Hurt Locker

Television Movies and Mini-Series
Grey Gardens

Television Series
“Mad Men” (“Guy Walks into an Advertising Agency”)

Television – Non-fiction, Variety or Music Series or Specials
“Deadliest Catch” (“Stay Focused or Die”)

DVD Original Programming
“Into the Blue: The Reef”

CAS Career Achievement Award
Randy Thom

CAS Filmmaker Award
Henry Selick

Technical Achievement Award for Post Production
Avid Pro Tools 8

Technical Achievement Award for Production
Lectrosonics OctoPack: Portable Multicoupler for SR Series Receivers

CAS President’s Award
Manfred N. Klemme

No comments:

Post a Comment