Friday, December 12, 2014

114 Original Scores in 2013 Oscar Race

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today announced that 114 scores from eligible feature-length motion pictures released in 2014 are in contention for nominations in the Original Score category for the 87th Oscars®.

The eligible scores along with their composers are listed below, in alphabetical order by film title:

American Revolutionary: The Evolution of Grace Lee Boggs, Vivek Maddala, composer
Anita, Lili Haydn, composer
Annabelle, Joseph Bishara, composer
At Middleton, Arturo Sandoval, composer
Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt?, Elia Cmiral, composer
Bears, George Fenton, composer
Belle, Rachel Portman, composer
Big Eyes, Danny Elfman, composer
Big Hero 6, Henry Jackman, composer
The Book of Life, Gustavo Santaolalla and Tim Davies, composers
The Boxtrolls, Dario Marianelli, composer
Brick Mansions, Trevor Morris, composer
Cake, Christophe Beck, composer
Calvary, Patrick Cassidy, composer
Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Henry Jackman, composer
The Case against 8, Blake Neely, composer
Cheatin’, Nicole Renaud, composer
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Michael Giacchino, composer
The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby: Them, Son Lux, composer
Divergent, Tom Holkenborg, composer
Dolphin Tale 2, Rachel Portman, composer
Dracula Untold, Ramin Djawadi, composer
Draft Day, John Debney, composer
The Drop, Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders, composers
Earth to Echo, Joseph Trapanese, composer
Edge of Tomorrow, Christophe Beck, composer
Endless Love, Christophe Beck and Jake Monaco, composers
The Equalizer, Harry Gregson-Williams, composer
Exodus: Gods and Kings, Alberto Iglesias, composer
The Fault in Our Stars, Mike Mogis, composer
Finding Vivian Maier, J. Ralph, composer
Fury, Steven Price, composer
Garnet’s Gold, J. Ralph, composer
Girl on a Bicycle, Craig Richey, composer
The Giver, Marco Beltrami, composer
Godzilla, Alexandre Desplat, composer
Gone Girl, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, composers
The Good Lie, Martin Léon, composer
The Grand Budapest Hotel, Alexandre Desplat, composer
The Great Flood, Bill Frisell, composer
Hercules, Fernando Velázquez, composer
The Hero of Color City, Zoë Poledouris-Roché and Angel Roché, Jr., composers
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, Howard Shore, composer
The Homesman, Marco Beltrami, composer
Horrible Bosses 2, Christopher Lennertz, composer
How to Train Your Dragon 2, John Powell, composer
The Hundred-Foot Journey, A.R. Rahman, composer
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1, James Newton Howard, composer
I Origins, Will Bates and Phil Mossman, composers
The Imitation Game, Alexandre Desplat, composer
Inherent Vice, Jonny Greenwood, composer
Interstellar, Hans Zimmer, composer
The Interview, Henry Jackman, composer
Into the Storm, Brian Tyler, composer
Jal, Sonu Nigam and Bickram Ghosh, composers
The Judge, Thomas Newman, composer
Kill the Messenger, Nathan Johnson, composer
Kochadaiiyaan, A.R. Rahman, composer
Legends of Oz: Dorothy’s Return, Toby Chu, composer
The Lego Movie, Mark Mothersbaugh, composer
The Liberator, Gustavo Dudamel, composer
Life Itself, Joshua Abrams, composer
Living Is Easy with Eyes Closed, Pat Metheny, composer
Lucy, Eric Serra, composer
Maleficent, James Newton Howard, composer
The Maze Runner, John Paesano, composer
Merchants of Doubt, Mark Adler, composer
Million Dollar Arm, A.R. Rahman, composer
A Million Ways to Die in the West, Joel McNeely, composer
Mr. Peabody & Sherman, Danny Elfman, composer
Mr. Turner, Gary Yershon, composer
The Monuments Men, Alexandre Desplat, composer
A Most Violent Year, Alex Ebert, composer
My Old Lady, Mark Orton, composer
Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb, Alan Silvestri, composer
Nightcrawler, James Newton Howard, composer
No God, No Master, Nuno Malo, composer
Noah, Clint Mansell, composer
Non-Stop, John Ottman, composer
The One I Love, Danny Bensi and Saunder Jurriaans, composers
Ouija, Anton Sanko, composer
Paddington, Nick Urata, composer
Penguins of Madagascar, Lorne Balfe, composer
Pompeii, Clinton Shorter, composer
The Purge: Anarchy, Nathan Whitehead, composer
The Railway Man, David Hirschfelder, composer
Red Army, Christophe Beck and Leo Birenberg, composers
Ride Along, Christopher Lennertz, composer
Rocks in My Pockets, Kristian Sensini, composer
Rosewater, Howard Shore, composer
St. Vincent, Theodore Shapiro, composer
The Salt of the Earth, Laurent Petitgand, composer
Selma, Jason Moran, composer
The Signal, Nima Fakhrara, composer
Snowpiercer, Marco Beltrami, composer
Song of the Sea, Bruno Coulais, composer
Still Alice, Ilan Eshkeri, composer
The Tale of the Princess Kaguya, Joe Hisaishi, composer
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Brian Tyler, composer
That Awkward Moment, David Torn, composer
The Theory of Everything, Jóhann Jóhannsson, composer
This Is Where I Leave You, Michael Giacchino, composer
300: Rise of an Empire, Tom Holkenborg, composer
Tracks, Garth Stevenson, composer
Transformers: Age of Extinction, Steve Jablonsky, composer
22 Jump Street, Mark Mothersbaugh, composer
Unbroken, Alexandre Desplat, composer
Under the Skin, Mica Levi, composer
Virunga, Patrick Jonsson, composer
Visitors, Philip Glass, composer
A Walk among the Tombstones, Carlos Rafael Rivera, composer
Walking with the Enemy, Timothy Williams, composer
Wild Tales, Gustavo Santaolalla, composer
X-Men: Days of Future Past, John Ottman, composer

A Reminder List of works submitted in the Original Score category will be made available with a nominations ballot to all members of the Music Branch, who shall vote in the order of their preference for not more than five achievements. The five achievements receiving the highest number of votes will become the nominations for final voting for the award.

To be eligible, the original score must be a substantial body of music that serves as original dramatic underscoring, and must be written specifically for the motion picture by the submitting composer. Scores diluted by the use of tracked themes or other preexisting music, diminished in impact by the predominant use of songs, or assembled from the music of more than one composer shall not be eligible.

The 87th Academy Awards® nominations will be announced live on Thursday, January 15, 2015, at 5:30 a.m. PT in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

The Oscars will be held on Sunday, February 22, 2015, at the Dolby Theatre® at Hollywood & Highland Center® in Hollywood, and will be televised live by the ABC Television Network. The Oscar presentation also will be televised live in more than 225 countries and territories worldwide.

No comments:

Post a Comment