Friday, May 2, 2014

2014 Student Academy Awards Finalists Announced

Forty-one students from 23 U.S. colleges and universities as well as 10 students from foreign universities have been selected as finalists in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 41st Student Academy Awards competition.

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award® winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar® nominations and have won or shared eight awards. They include John Lasseter, Pete Docter, Robert Zemeckis, Trey Parker and Spike Lee.

Academy members will now vote to determine up to three winning films in each category. The winners, but not their medal placements, will be announced later this month. The winning students will be brought to Los Angeles for a week of industry activities and social events that will culminate in the awards ceremony on Saturday, June 7, at 6 p.m., at the DGA Theater in Hollywood, at which time the gold, silver and bronze medalists will be revealed.

The finalists are (listed alphabetically by film title):

Dreamers – Joseph Dwyer, Boston University
Entropic Apogee – Bill Manolios, Art Institute of California – San Francisco
Jaspa’ Jenkins – Robert Carnilius, Columbia College Chicago
Oscillate – Daniel Sierra, School of Visual Arts, New York
Passer Passer – Louis Morton, University of Southern California
Person – Drew Brown and Ramona Ramdeen, The Art Institute of Jacksonville, Florida
The Private Life of Fenfen – Leslie Tai, Stanford University
Staircases – Steinar Bergoy Nedrebo, School of Visual Arts, New York

Baxter – Ty Coyle, Savannah College of Art and Design, Georgia
Goodnight Boon – Jeremy Jensen, New York University
Higher Sky – Teng Cheng, University of Southern California
Marcel – Eric Cunha and Seung Sung, School of Visual Arts, New York
Owned – Daniel Clark and Wesley Tippetts, Brigham Young University, Utah
Roadkill Redemption – Karl Hadrika, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida
Two Ghosts – Amy Lee Ketchum, University of Southern California
Umbra – Pedro Jesus Atienzar Godoy, Pratt Institute, New York
Yamashita – Hayley Foster, Loyola Marymount University, California

The Apothecary – Helen Hood Scheer, Stanford University
Eth“no”representation – Ryan Metzler and Scott Kulicke, Occidental College, California
Heel’d – Thomas Smith and McKenna Hinkle, Villanova University, Pennsylvania
Light Mind – Jie Yi, School of Visual Arts, New York
My Sister Sarah – Elizabeth Chatelain, University of Texas at Austin
One Child – Zijian Mu, New York University
Punches & Pedicures – Ashley Brandon and Dennis Höhne, Wright State University, Ohio
Scattered – Lindsay Lindenbaum, School of Visual Arts, New York
White Earth – J. Christian Jensen, Stanford University

AM800 – James Roe, University of New Orleans
Above the Sea – Keola Racela, Columbia University, New York
Door God – Yulin Liu, New York University
Interstate – Camille Stochitch, American Film Institute, California
Istifa (Resignation) – Rahat Mahajan, Art Center College of Design, California
So You’ve Grown Attached – Kate Tsang, New York University
Sweepstakes – Mark Tumas, Temple University, Pennsylvania
Way in Rye – Goran Stankovic, American Film Institute, California
What Remains – Julie Koegl, University of North Carolina School of the Arts

Foreign Film
Border Patrol – Peter Baumann, The Northern Film School, United Kingdom
Intruder – Geun Buem Park, Korean Academy of Film Arts, South Korea
Kam – Katarina Morano, University of Ljubljana – Academy of Theatre, Radio, Film and Television, Slovenia
Nocebo – Lennart Ruff, University of Television and Film Munich, Germany
North – Philip Sheerin, National Film and Television School, United Kingdom
Paris on the Water – Hadas Ayalon, Tel Aviv University, Israel
Sacred Defense – Nima Mohaghegh, Netherlands Film Academy
Souffle Court – Johann Dulat, ENS Louis-Lumière – The National Film, Photography & Sound Engineering School, France
The Oasis – Carl Marott, The National Film School of Denmark
Wo Wir Sind – Ilker Çatak, Hamburg Media School, Germany

To reach this stage, U.S. students competed in one of three regional competitions. Each region is permitted to send to the Academy up to three finalists in each of the four categories. The Student Academy Awards Nominating Committee screened and voted on the finalists in the Foreign Film category.

The 41st Student Academy Awards ceremony on June 7 is free and open to the public, but advance tickets are required. Tickets may be obtained online at or by mail. Any remaining tickets will be made available at the door on the evening of the event. The DGA Theater is located at 7920 Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood. For more information, call (310) 247-2677.

No comments:

Post a Comment