Tuesday, April 23, 2013

2013 Writers Guild of Canada (WGC) Screenwriting Awards – winners

The Writers' Guild of Canada held their ceremony for the 17th annual WGC Screenwriting Awards last night at Uniun Nightclub. Comedian-actor Ryan Belleville hosted the event.

The winner for Best Movie or Miniseries was the CBC television movie The Phantoms by Andrew Wreggitt. It won against Picture Day by Kate Melville, The Samaritan by Elan Mastai & David Weaver, and Still by Michael McGowan.

The winner for Documentary writing was A Sorry State written by Mitch Miyagawa. The television category was won by the Less Than Kind episode “Jerk Chicken” written by Kim Coghill.

Nominations for the 2013 WGC Screenwriting Awards

Complete winners for the 17th annual WGC Screenwriting Awards

Sidekick “I, Sidebot” ; Written by Dan Williams & Lienne Sawatsky

Children & Youth
How To Be Indie “How To Make a Christmas Miracle”; Written by John May & Suzanne Bolch

A Sorry State; Written by Mitch Miyagawa

Movies & Miniseries
The Phantoms; Written by Andrew Wreggitt

Shorts & Webseries
Ruby Skye P.I.: The Haunted Library “#Creepy”; Written by Julie Strassman-Cohn & Jill Golick

TV Comedy
Less Than Kind “Jerk Chicken”; Written by Kim Coghill

TV Drama
The L.A. Complex “Down in L.A.”; Written by Martin Gero


WGC Showrunner Award
Mark Ellis & Stephanie Morgenstern

The Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize
Wild Medicine by Adam Garnet Jones

Writers Block Award
Anne-Marie Perrotta, Simon Racioppa & Lienne Sawatsky

No comments:

Post a Comment