Friday, August 24, 2012

2012 Golden Icons Academy Movie Awards (GIAMA) – nominees

Nominees have been announced for the Inaugural edition of the Golden Icons Academy Movie Awards (GIAMA). Nominated films include South Africa’s Man on Ground, Nigerian Films Unge’s War, I’ll take my Chances, Two Brides and A Baby, Ghanaian Films Sinking Sands, Somewhere in Africa, The Groom’s Bride, Hands of Time, Deadly Affair, and Sierra Leone’s Enemy of the Family.

Only films that were produced and/or released between January 2011 and June 2012 were considered eligible for review and nomination.

The winners for the 1st Annual Golden Icons Academy Movie Awards will be presented at a ceremony on October 20, 2012, in Houston, TX and will be hosted by Nollywood Untamed Actor Jim Iyke.

Complete list of nominations for the 1st Annual Golden Icons Academy Movie Awards


Best Motion Picture
Unge’s War
Man on Ground
Somewhere in Africa
Mr. & Mrs.
Two Brides and A Baby
I’ll take my Chances

Best Drama Film
The Groom’s Bride
In the Cupboard
Somewhere in Africa
Two Brides and A Baby
Enemy of the Family

Best Actor
Majid Michel – Somewhere in Africa
Jimmy Jean-Louis – Sinking Sands
O.C Ukeje – Two Brides and A Baby
George Davidson – Dangerous men
Joseph Benjamin – Mr. & Mrs
Hakeem Kae Kazim – Man on Ground

Best Actress
Ini Edo – In the Cupboard
Jackie Appiah – Deadly Affair
Nse Ekpe Etim – Mr. & Mrs.
Stella Damascus – Two Brides and a Baby
Yvonne Okoro – Single 6
Nadia Buari – Hands of Time

Best Comedy Act
Okon Lagos – Ime Bishop Umoh
Wisdom of Thomas – Funke Akindele
Dumebi - Mercy Johnson
Okon Lagos – Monalisa Chinda
Eletan – Lilian Bach

Best New Actor
Leo’ Uche – Unge’s War
Uti Nwachukwu – In the Cupboard
Bryan Okwara – I’ll Take my Chances
Bobby Michaels – Facebook Lovers
Eddie Watson – Single 6
James Gardener – The Groom’s Bride

Best New Actress
Keira Hewatch – Two Brides and a Baby
Nana Akua Amoah – Single 6
Belinda Effah – KoKomma
Zita Galega – Single 6
Ama K. Abebrese - Sinking Sands
Joy Orie (JJ Bunny) – Trapped in the Game

Best Supporting Actor
Alex Ekubo – In the Cupboard
Okey Uzoeshi – Two Brides and a Baby
Van Vicker – Hands of Time
Frank Attus – Trapped in the Game
Leo U’Che – Dangerous Men
Yemi Blaq – Sinking Sands

Best Original Screenplay
Sinking Sands – Leila Djansi
Unge’s War - GuGu Michael
In the Cupboard – Desmond Elliot
My Life, My Damage – Uche Jombo
Two Brides and a Baby – Blessing Egbe
Single 6 – Pascal Amafo

Best Supporting Actress
Chelsea Eze – Two Brides and A Baby
Biola Segun Williams – In the Cupboard
Yvonne Nelson – Trapped in the Game
Martha Ankomah – Somewhere in Africa
Lilian Ini Ikpe – Kokomma
Chisom Oz Lee – Timeless Passion

Best Indigenous Film (native language)
Unge’s War
Okon Lagos
Udeme Mi

Best Film Director
Two Brides and a Baby – Teco Benson
Kokomma – Tom Robson
Somewhere in Africa – Frank Rajah Arase
In the Cupboard – Desmond Elliot
Hands of Time – Van Vicker
Deadly Affair – Phil Efe Bernard

Best Film Producer
GuGu Michaels – Unge’s War
Kwame Boadu – Somewhere in Africa
Emem Isong – I’ll take my Chances
Chinwe Egwuagu – Mr and Mrs
Abdul Salam Mumuni - The Groom’s Bride
Blessing Egbe - Two Brides and Baby

Best Costume
I’ll take my Chances
The Groom’s Bride
Somewhere in Africa
Unge’s War
Two Brides and A Baby

Best Sound
Deadly Affair
Sinking Sands
Somewhere in Africa
I’ll take my Chances
Unge’s War
The Groom’s Bride

Best Cinematography
Unge’s War
Man on Ground
The Groom’s Bride
Sinking Sands
Two Brides and A Baby
Deadly Affair

GIAMA Humanitarian Award
Omotola Jalade – Omotola Youth Empowerment (OYEP) Foundation
Nana Ama Mcbrown – Nana Ama and The Mcbrown Family Foundation
Van Vicker – Van Vicker Foundation
Juliet Ibrahim – The Juliet Ibrahim Kidney Cancer Foundation (JIF)
John Dumelo – John Dumelo foundation
Monalisa Chinda – Monalisa Chinda Sunshine Foundation


Best Film – Diaspora
Secret Past
The Entrapped
The Mechanic (Who is the Man)
Black Money

Best Actress – Diaspora
Sanu Kalu – Scarlet
Divine Shaw – Black Money
Maureen Esealuka – Bianca
Amaka Morghalu – Faithfulness
Syr Law – The Entrapped
Seun Maduka – The Mechanic (Who is the Man)

Best Supporting Actress – Diaspora
Susan Peters – The Entrapped
Nancy Agyapong – DSK Unauthorized
Charmaine Turpin – Bianca
Summer Angel – Tears of my Joy
Wins Tina Taylor – Scarlet
Eefy Ify – The Mechanic (Who is the Man)

Best Actor – Diaspora
Chet Anekwe – Bianca
Van Vicker – Black Money
Pascal Atuma – Secret Past
Ramsey Nouah – Exposure
John Dumelo – Scarlet
Tchidi Chikere – When Heaven Smiles

Best Supporting Actor – Diaspora
Olalekan Akintude – Black Money
Oscar Atuma – The Mechanic (Who is the Man)
Mohamed Bah – Secret Past
Koby Maxwell – Paparazzi: Eye In The Dark
Curtis John Miller – Grey Focus
Mohamoud Arab - Tears of my Joy

Best Film Director – Diaspora
Robert Peters – Black Money
Ab Sallu – Secret Past
John Uche – Bianca
Pascal Atuma – The Mechanic (Who is the Man)
George Kalu – Faithfulness
Bayo Akinfemi – Paparazzi: Eye In The Dark

Best Film Producer – Diaspora
Secret Past – Mohamed Bah
Bianca – John Uche
The Entrapped – Wendy Bangura
The Mechanic (Who is the Man) – Pascal Atuma
Paparazzi – Clarice Kulah/ Koby Maxwell
Black Money – Chris Ikpefua


Best Male Act (Viewer’s Choice)
John Dumelo
Ramsey Nouah
Majid Michel
Desmond Elliot
Van Vicker
Jim Iyke
Mike Ezuruonye
Yemi Blaq

Best Female Act (Viewer’s Choice)
Omotola Jolade
Mercy Johnson
Nadia Buari
Genevieve Nnaji
Uche Jombo
Jackie Appiah
Tonto Dikeh
Ini Edo

Best Film Director (Viewer’s Choice)
Kunle Afolayan
Frank Rajah-Arase
Desmond Elliot
Pascal Amanfo
Tunde Kelani
Teco Benson
Phil Efe Bernard
Tom Robson


Best Male Act – DIASPORA (Viewer’s Choice)
Tchidi Chikere
Pascal Atuma
Chet Anekwe
Hakeem Kae-Kazim
Oliver Mbamara

Best Female Act – DIASPORA (Viewer’s Choice)
Sana Kanu
JJ Bunny
Veeda Darko
Seun Maduka
Merlisa Determined


Best Male Act (Hollywood – Viewer’s Choice)
Idris Elba
Samuel L. Jackson
Denzel Washington
Kevin Hart
Will Smith
Don Cheadle
Isaiah Washington
Djimon Hounsou

Best Female Act (Hollywood – Viewer’s Choice)
Meagan Good
Kerri Washington
Lynn Whitfield
Queen Latifah
Halle Berry
Taraji Henson
Princess Monique
Sophie Okonedo

No comments:

Post a Comment