Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Nominees announced for France's Prix Louis-Delluc

The nominees have just been announced for France's respected Prix Louis-Delluc, given since 1937 to the best French film of the year in honour of groundbreaking film writer Louis Delluc (1890-1924). The first winner was Jean Renoir for Les Bas-fonds (The Lower Depths). Other previous winners have included Alain Resnais (a three-time winner), Jacques Tati, Jean Cocteau, Jean-Luc Godard, Robert Bresson, François Truffaut, Claude Chabrol, and last year's winner Jacques Audiard for his thrilling prison drama Un Prophète (A Prophet).

Eight films in total are vying for the prize this year. The nominees include the full five-and-a-half hour version of Carlos about the mercenary familiar to some as "The Jackal."  Des hommes et des dieux (Of Gods and Men) previously won the Grand Prix at the Cannes Film Festival and is France's official submission to the Academy Awards for Best Foreign Language Film. Although Roman Polanski's The Ghost Writer is in English, he is a French citizen and the film is French-made. Mystères de Lisbonne (Mysteries of Lisbon) is mostly Portuguese and directed by Chilean-born filmmaker Raoul Ruiz.

Since 2000, an additional award has been given for best first film, the Prix Louis-Delluc du premier film. Six films are in contention for this award, including the biopic Gainsbourg (Vie héroïque) (Gainsbourg: a Heroic Life).

The awards are decided by a jury of twenty film critics and arts professionals led by Cannes Film Festival president Gilles Jacob. The winners will be announced on December 17, 2010 in Paris.

Complete list of Prix Louis-Delluc nominees

La sélection du Prix Louis-Delluc
Carlos (long version), Olivier Assayas
Des filles en noir (Girls in Black), Jean-Paul Civeyrac
Des hommes et des dieux (Of Gods and Men), Xavier Beauvois
Mystères de Lisbonne (Mysteries of Lisbon), Raoul Ruiz
La princesse de Montpensier (The Princess of Montpensier), Bertrand Tavernier
The Ghost Writer, Roman Polanski
Tournée (On Tour), Mathieu Amalric
White Material, Claire Denis

La sélection pour le Prix Louis-Delluc du premier film
Belle Epine (Beautiful Thorn), Rebecca Zlotowski
Domaine, Patrick Chiha
Gainsbourg (Vie héroïque) (Gainsbourg: a Heroic Life), Joann Sfar
Une exécution ordinaire (An Ordinary Execution), Marc Dugain
Un poison violent (Love Like Poison), Katell Quillévéré
La vie au ranch (Life at the Ranch), Sophie Letourneur

No comments:

Post a Comment