Thursday, April 29, 2010

Awards News: 9th Tribeca Film Festival awards

As the 9th Tribeca Film Festival draws to a close, they announced their award winners on Thursday night at a ceremony in Manhattan’s Union Square. The top winner of the night was Die Fremde (When We Leave), which earned the Best Narrative Feature award (and $25,000 cash) for director Feo Aladag, and Best Actress for its star Sibel Kekilli. Just last week, Die Fremde similarly won Best Film (Bronze) and Best Actress at Germany's Lola Awards. Shocked by her win, Kekilli hugged the jurors and let out a string of "fuck" exclamations, before asking jokingly if the award would be taken away as a result.

Other winners include Kim Chapiron who was named Best New Narrative Filmmaker for Dog Pound, and received $25,000. The jury had wanted to give Dog Pound a first-ever Best Ensemble prize, but were told that it was too late to add that category. Also winning $25,000 were Best New Documentary Filmmaker winner Clio Barnard for The Arbor, and Best Documentary Feature winner Alexandra Codina (Monica & David).

The Audience Award will be announced Saturday at the festival's wrap party.  All the winning films will screen at the Village East Cinemas on Sunday.

UPDATERUSH: Beyond the Lighted Stage won the Heineken Audience Award on Saturday May 1. The award comes with a $25,000 cash prize.

Complete list of Tribeca Film Festival Award Winners

World Competition Categories
The Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature
Die Fremde (When We Leave), directed and written by Feo Aladag

Special Jury Mention
Loose Cannons, directed by Ferzan Ozpetek and written by Ozpetek and Ivan Cotroneo

Best New Narrative Filmmaker
Kim Chapiron for Dog Pound, written by Kim Chapiron and Jeremie Delon

Best Actor in a Narrative Feature Film
Eric Elmosnino as Serge Gainsbourg in Gainsbourg, Je t'Aime ... Moi Non Plus, directed and written by Joann Sfar

Best Actress in a Narrative Feature Film
Sibel Kekilli as Umay in Die Fremde (When We Leave)

Best Documentary Feature
Monica & David, directed by Alexandra Codina

Special Jury Mention
Budrus, directed by Julia Bacha

Best New Documentary Filmmaker
Clio Barnard for The Arbor

New York Competition Categories

Best New York Narrative
Monogamy, directed by Dana Adam Shapiro, written by Shapiro and Evan M. Weiner

Special Jury Mention
Melissa Leo for The Space Between, directed and written by Travis Fine

Best New York Documentary
The Woodmans, directed by C. Scott Willis

Short Film Competition Categories

Best Narrative Short
Father Christmas Doesn't Come Here, directed by Bekhi Sibiya, written by Sibongile Nkosana, Bongi Ndaba

Special Jury Mention
The Crush, directed and written by Michael Creagh

Best Documentary Short
White Lines & The Fever: The Death of DJ Junebug, directed and written by Travis Senger

Special Jury Mention
Out of Infamy: Michi Nishiura Weglyn, directed and written by Nancy Kapitanoff, Sharon Yamato

Student Visionary Award
Some Boys Don't Leave, directed by Maggie Kiley, written by Matthew Mullen, Maggie Kiley

Special Jury Mention
The Pool Party, directed and written by Sara Zandieh

Tribeca Film Festival Virtual Categories

Best Feature Film
Spork, directed and written by J.B. Ghuman Jr.

Best Short Film
Delilah, Before, directed Melanie Schiele

No comments:

Post a Comment