Tuesday, August 9, 2011

TIFF 2011: Canadian film awards and juries; Canadian Initiatives


Toronto – The Toronto International Film Festival® continues to recognize and support achievements in Canada’s filmmaking industry and is delighted to welcome back major prizes that recognize excellence in feature film, short film and the work of first-time feature filmmakers.

All three awards are selected by a jury of film professionals. The feature film jury consists of actor Liane Balaban (One Week, Up In Cottage Country); director Sturla Gunnarsson (Force of Nature); journalist/producer Denis Séguin (How to Start Your Own Country); and producer Gabriella Martinelli (Capri Films).

The short film jury members are Sundance programmer John Korn; filmmaker and artist Srinivas Krishna (My Name is Raj installation); and Hot Docs Programming Manager Karina Rotenstein.

“These jury members have a tough task ahead of them – selecting winners from this impressive lineup of Canadian films won’t be easy,” says Cameron Bailey, Co-Director of the Toronto International Film Festival.

The City of Toronto Award for Best Canadian Feature Film, presented annually to a Canadian filmmaker, is made possible thanks to the City of Toronto. This award includes a cash prize of $30,000. The 2010 winner was Denis Villeneuve for Incendies.

The SKYY Vodka Award for Best Canadian First Feature Film is presented annually to a Canadian filmmaker for a compelling debut feature. The award carries a cash prize of $15,000. Deborah Chow’s The High Cost of Living took the prize in 2010.

The winner of the Award for Best Canadian Short Film receives a $10,000 cash prize. The 2010 winner was Vincent Biron for Les Fleurs de l’âge.

All awards will be presented at the Festival's Awards Reception on Sunday, September 18, 2011.



Film Circuit
  • Operating in ten provinces, with more than 192 groups in over 171 communities, Film Circuit is essential in building markets and exposing audiences to the best in Canadian film.
  • 113 Canadian films screened as part of Film Circuit in 2010.
  • Last year more than 300,000 filmgoers attended Film Circuit screenings across Canada.
  • In 2010, Film Circuit coordinated guest appearances for more than 52 Canadian filmmakers, producers and actors who travelled to 18 communities across Canada to host and participate in question-and-answer sessions.
  • Working with more than 1,000 volunteers, Film Circuit has generated over $2.2 million in new direct revenues for Canadian distributors and exhibitors.
  • The 2010 Film Circuit People’s Choice Award went to Cooking with Stella (Dilip Mehta) and The Secret in their Eyes (Juan José Campanella).
Film Reference Library
  • With more than 19,000 book titles and 63,000 film production files, the Film Reference Library holds the world's most extensive English language collection of Canadian film-related material, including unique holdings of Canada’s most esteemed filmmakers.
  • New collections received in 2010 include works from Carol Spier, David Cronenberg, Doug Kiefer, George Ungar.
Canada’s Top Ten
  • Each year, two independent national panels of filmmakers, programmers, journalists and industry professionals vote on the 10 best Canadian feature films and the 10 best Canadian short films of the year.
  • 2011 represents the 11th year of Canada’s Top Ten.
Student Film Showcase
  • 12 selected films were screened at the eighth annual Student Film Showcase in 2011, with over 400 people in attendance (its biggest yet).
  • Prizes were awarded by a jury of industry professionals to Blink by Miles Jay for Best Film (Live Action), and to The Dimming by Ippiksaut Friesen for Best Film (Animation).
  • Past Showcase works have advanced to screen at major festivals around the world including the Toronto International Film Festival, Sundance and the Berlin International Film Festival.
The Toronto International Film Festival presents The Canadian Pack which includes five screenings of Canadian feature films for $80 ($68 for students and seniors). Purchase Festival ticket packages online 24 hours a day at tiff.net/festival, by phone Monday to Friday from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. ET at 416-599-TIFF or 1-888-599-8433, and in person at the TIFF Bell Lightbox Box Office at 350 King St. West from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET. Methods of payment include cash, debit or Visa†. The 36th Toronto International Film Festival runs September 8 to 18, 2011.

About TIFF
TIFF is a charitable cultural organization whose mission is to transform the way people see the world through film. An international leader in film culture, TIFF projects include the annual Toronto International Film Festival in September; TIFF Bell Lightbox, which features five cinemas, major exhibitions, and learning and entertainment facilities; and innovative national distribution program Film Circuit. The organization generates an annual economic impact of $170 million CAD. TIFF Bell Lightbox is generously supported by contributors including Founding Sponsor Bell, the Province of Ontario, the Government of Canada, the City of Toronto, the Reitman family (Ivan Reitman, Agi Mandel and Susan Michaels), The Daniels Corporation, Major Sponsor and official bank RBC, Major Sponsor BlackBerry and Visa†. For more information, visit tiff.net.

Toronto International Film Festival is generously supported by Lead Sponsor Bell, Major Sponsors RBC and BlackBerry, and Major Supporters the Government of Ontario, Telefilm Canada, and the City of Toronto.


No comments:

Post a Comment