Thursday, April 14, 2011

64th annual Festival de Cannes - official selections [UPDATED]

The Festival de Cannes has announced their official selections for their 64th edition of the annual festival.

Films selected for competition include Terrence Malick's The Tree of Life, Lars von Trier's Melancholia, the Dardenne Brothers' The Kid With a Bike, Pedro Almodovar The Skin That I Inhabit, Nanni Moretti's We Have a Pope, and Lynne Ramsay's We Need to Talk About Kevin. Films in the Un Certain Regard section include Kim Ki-duk's Arirang, Hong Sang-soo's The Day He Arrives, Gus Van Sant's Restless, and Hors Satan by Bruno Dumont. Among the Out of Competition titles are Rob Marshall's Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, and the controversial film The Beaver by Jodie Foster which stars Mel Gibson.

As announced in February, Woody Allen’s Midnight in Paris opens the festival on May 11. The film's all-star cast of Owen Wilson, Rachel McAdams, Carla Bruni, Marion Cotillard, Kathy Bates, Gad Elmaleh, Léa Seydoux and Adrien Brody are expected to attend the Croisette to launch the festival. The film is being screened out of competition.

Although the juries have not yet been finalized, the Presidents for the juries have previously been announced. Robert De Niro will head the Feature Films jury, Michel Gondry will preside over the Short Film and Cinéfondation juries, Emir Kusturica will lead the Un Certain Regard jury and Bong Joon-ho heads the Camera d'Or jury.

Titles for La Semaine de la Critique (Critics' Week) and short film selections will be announced on Monday. The 64th annual Festival de Cannes runs from May 11-22.


[UPDATED April 22, 2011]
The world premiere screening of the film Bollywood: The Greatest Love Story Ever Told produced by Shekar Kapoor and directed by Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra and Jeff Zimbalist has be added to the official selections. It will play out of competition.

Official selections for the 64th annual Festival de Cannes

Midnight in Paris, Woody Allen

L'apollonide - Souvenirs de la maison close (House of Tolerance), Bertrand Bonello
Bir Zamanlar Anadolu'da (Once Upon a Time in Anatolia), Nuri Bilge Ceylan
Drive, Nicolas Winding Refn
Le Gamin au Vélo (The Kid With a Bike), Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne
Hanezu no Tsuki, Naomi Kawase
Hearat Shulayim (Footnote), Josef Cedar
Ichimei (Hara-kiri: Death of a Samurai), Takashi Miike
Le Havre, Aki Kaurismaki
, Lars von Trier
, Markus Schleinzer
Pater, Alain Cavalier
Polisse, Maiwenn
La Piel Que Habito (The Skin That I Inhabit), Pedro Almodovar
Sleeping Beauty, Julia Leigh
La Source des femmes (The Source), Radu Mihaileanu
This Must Be the Place, Paolo Sorrentino
The Tree of Life, Terrence Malick
We Have a Pope, Nanni Moretti
We Need to Talk About Kevin, Lynne Ramsay

Arirang, Kim Ki-duk
Bonsai, Cristian Jimenez
The Day He Arrives, Hong Sang-soo
Et maintenant on va ou?, Nadine Labaki
Halt auf freier Strecke, Andreas Dresen
Hors Satan, Bruno Dumont
The Hunter, Bakur Bakuradze
Les Neiges du Kilimandjaro, Robert Guediguian
L'exercisce de l'etat (The Minister), Pierre Schoeller
Loverboy, Catalin Mitulescu
Martha Marcy May Marlene, Sean Durkin
Miss Bala, Gerardo Naranjo
Restless, Gus Van Sant
Oslo, August 31st, Joachim Trier
Skoonheid, Oliver Hermanus
Tatsumi, Eric Khoo
Trabalhar cansa (Hard Labour), Juliana Rojas, Marco Dutra
Toomelah, Ivan Sen
The Yellow Sea, Na Hong-jin

The Beaver, Jodie Foster
The Artist, Michel Hazanavicius
The Conquest, Xavier Durringer
Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, Rob Marshall
Bollywood: The Greatest Love Story Ever Told, Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra and Jeff Zimbalist

Wu Xia, Peter Chan Ho-sun
Dias de gracia (Days of Grace), Everardo Gout

Labrador, Frederikke Aspock
Le maitre des forges de l'enfer, Rithy Panh
Michel Petrucciani, Michael Radford
Tous au Larzac, Christian Rouaud


Cinéfondation 2011 Selections

Cagey Tigers, Aramisova (Czech Republic)
Suu et Uchikawa, Nathanael Carton (Singapore)
A Viagem (The Trip)
, Simão Cayatte (United States)
Befetach Beity (On My Doorstep), Anat Costi (Israël)
The Agony and Sweat of the Human Spirit, Joe Bookman and D. Jesse Damazo (United States)
Bento Monogatari (Lunchbox Story), Pieter Dirkx (Belgium)
Der Brief (The Letter), Doroteya Droumeva (Germany)
Duelo antes da noite (Duel Before Nightfall), Alice Furtado (Brazil)
Drari, Kamal Lazraq (France)
Salsipuedes, Mariano Luque (Argentina)
La Fiesta de Casamiento (The Wedding Party), Gastón Margolin, Martín Morgenfeld (Argentina)
L’estate che non viene (Till Summer Comes), Pasquale Marino (Italy)
Big Muddy, Jefferson Moneo (United States)
Al Martha Lauf (Martha Must Fly), Ma’ayan Rypp (Israël)
Ya-gan-bi-hang (Fly by Night), Tae-gyum Son (South Korea)
Der Wechselbalg (Changeling), Maria Steinmetz (Germany)

No comments:

Post a Comment