Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Prism Prize for Best Canadian Music Video of 2014 – finalists

Short-List Announcement For Best Canadian Music Video of 2014

The Prism Prize is thrilled to announce the Top Ten Best Canadian Music Videos of 2014, as voted by a jury of more than 120 industry professionals from the worlds of music, film, broadcast and web media. After viewing hundreds of music videos released in 2014, jurors selected the Prism Prize Top Ten based on originality, creativity, style, innovation and effective execution. The jury will vote once more to determine the Prism Prize winner, who will receive a $5,000 Grand Prize at the Awards Presentation on March 29, 2015 at TIFF Bell Lightbox. For the first time ever the Prism Prize Awards Presentation will be open to the public. Tickets are available at www.prismprize.com/tickets

In addition to the Grand Prize announcement, the Prism Prize Awards Presentation will include a screening of the Top Ten videos, sponsored by MuchFACT; and presentation of the Audience Choice Award, Presented by Noisey Canada; the Prism Prize Special Achievement Award for artistic achievements and exceptional contribution to music video art on a world stage; and the Arthur Lipsett Award, Presented by Art Works Art School, for innovative and unique approaches to music video art.

THE 2015 PRISM PRIZE TOP TEN (in alphabetical order, by director name):

The New Pornographers - Dancehall Domine (Directors: Scott Cudmore and Michael LeBlanc)

PUP - Guilt Trip (Directors: Chandler Levack and Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux)

Fur Trade - Same Temptation (Director: Kheaven Lewandowski)

Rich Aucoin - Yelling in Sleep (Director: Joel Mackenzie)

Ryan Hemsworth - Snow in Newark (Director: Martin C. Pariseau)

Kandle - Not Up to Me (Director: Natalie Rae Robison)

Kevin Drew - You in Your Were (Director: Samir Rehem)

Odonis Odonis - Order in the Court (Director: Lee Stringle)

Chad VanGaalen - Monster (Director: Chad VanGaalen)

Timber Timbre - Beat the Drum Slowly (Director: Chad VanGaalen)

The Prism Prize Top Ten videos are live at www.prismprize.com, where fans can watch and vote on who will take home this year’s Audience Award.

Past Prism Prize winners for Best Canadian Music Video of the Year include Noah Pink for Rich Aucoin’s Brian Wilson is A.L.i.V.E (2012) and Emily Kai Bock for Arcade Fire's Afterlife (2013).

Prism Prize is proud to host a comprehensive resource for music fans to watch the best Canadian music videos all in one place. Videos and news from Canada’s music video community are available throughout the year at www.prismprize.com.


No comments:

Post a Comment